Victoria’s Top Tourism Town Finalists Announced!



Finalists for the Victorian Top Tourism Town Awards have been announced, with 18 towns across the state vying for the prestigious accolade.

These Awards showcase the regional towns and centres offering exceptional and unique visitor experiences across Victoria.

VTIC Chief Executive Felicia Mariani said the Awards are an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the most captivating destinations the state has to offer.

“Victorians have been charmed by their own backyard — two years of being in and out of lockdown have shown many of us we don’t have to leave Victoria for a getaway. It’s renewed our love for stunning regional destinations,” Ms Mariani said.

“The Victorian Tourism Awards capture that love, and help us honour our favourite parts of this great state as a Top Tourism Town.”

Finalists will proceed to the consumer voting element of the Awards giving the public a chance to vote for their favourite Victorian destinations. Voting will be open from Tuesday, 10th of May and close on the 31st of May 2022.

Individuals who cast a vote for their favourite Victorian tourism towns will go into the draw to win a Melbourne Getaway for two, kindly sponsored by Time Out and Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. The prize includes a two-night stay at the luxurious Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, with breakfast included, two dining vouchers to some of Melbourne’s best restaurants. and tickets to the LUME.

“We’re calling on every Victorian to cast their vote and show their support for our domestic tourism industry,” Ms Mariani said.

“Every tourism business has worked so hard to survive the past two years. It’s the perfect time to acknowledge what regional towns and centres have done to revitalise their tourism experiences and welcome visitors back.”

The Top Tourism Town winner (population over 5,000) will receive $10,000 worth of airtime with Prime 7. The winners of the Small Tourism Town (population between 1,500 and 5,000) and Tiny Tourism Town (population under 1,500) will receive $10,000 and $5,000 respectively of airtime with Prime 7.  In addition, the Small & Tiny Towns winners will receive a customized “Townscape” podcast from our partners at Storytowns.

The three Victorian winners will then progress on to the nationals for a chance to be named Australia’s Top Tourism Towns.

The Victorian finalists are:

Top Tourism Towns

  • Ballarat
  • Bendigo
  • Echuca
  • Frankston
  • Lakes Entrance
  • Mildura
  • Shepparton
  • Werribee

Top Small Tourism Towns

  • Heathcote
  • Port Fairy
  • Rochester
  • Sorrento

Top Tiny Tourism Towns

  • Aireys Inlet
  • Fingal
  • Flinders
  • Mount Macedon
  • Noojee
  • Timboon

VTIC thanks the 2022 Victorian Top Tourism Town Partners, the Department of Transport, Prime 7, Storytowns and Time Out.

To cast your vote for your favourite part of Victoria, visit the VTIC website,

Subscribe Button