2015 RACV Victorian Tourism Awards shines spotlight on tourism excellence



The Victoria Tourism Industry Council (VTIC) will welcome over 900 tourism and event industry leaders to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre for Monday night’s 2015 RACV Victorian Tourism Awards Gala Evening in celebration of business excellence in the industry, said VTIC Acting Chief Executive Erin Joyce.

“The awards acknowledge the outstanding work of operators and showcase the array of innovative, passionate work being done throughout regional and metropolitan Victoria in the tourism and events sector,” said Ms Joyce.

“This gala dinner is a highlight of the industry’s calendar. It is the tourism and events sector’s night of nights as it brings people together to celebrate the achievements of the past year. VTIC is thrilled to manage the awards for the first time in 2015 and build on its 30-year history.”

In 2015 there are more than 120 submissions in over 30 categories, including two RACV people’s choice categories being voted on by the public.

“Most importantly the evening is an acknowledgement of the commitment of all entrants, and those operators leading the way in excellence, creativity and sustainability and we look forward to this exciting event,” said Ms Joyce.

The Hon John Eren MP, Minister for Tourism and Major Events, will present the Young Achievers, Outstanding Contribution by Volunteers and Major Tourist Attractions awards.

The tourism sector contributes over $20 billion to the Victorian economy and employs over 200,000 people. Last year the sector achieved over 10 per cent growth in international overnight visitors, and 5 per cent growth in domestic overnight visitors. The Visitor Economy has recently been recognised as the seventh pillar of the Victorian economy, generating 6 per cent of the State’s jobs.

VTIC is managing the awards on behalf of the Victorian Government.

Media contact: Tristan Dwyer
media@vecci.org.au | 03 8662 5310 | 0423 883 945

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Subscribe Button