2016 Summary of changes:

In 2015, the National Tourism Alliance updated all of the categories and criteria following feedback from all State/Territory award owners. In 2016, some minor tweaks to these changes have been implemented that are a result of feedback from entrants.

Download the PDF : Summary of Changes- 2016 RACV Victorian Tourism Awards

  1. Category changes:

  • The Backpacker Accommodation and Qantas Award for Excellence in Sustainable Tourism categories will no longer be included in the Awards. Backpacker organisations are encouraged to enter category 21 Standard Accommodation.
  • Qantas will be sponsoring the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Tourism category and will now be titled Qantas Award for Aboriginal & Torres Islander Tourism. The Victorian state winner will receive a $2,000.00 incentive from Qantas and the National winner will receive $25,000.00.
  1. New Category Descriptors:

  • Category 7 – now titled Qantas Award for Aboriginal & Torres Islander Tourism.
  • Category 14Destination Marketing: This category recognises creativity and innovation in fully integrated destination marketing activities. This category is open to Regional Tourism Organisations, Local Tourist Associations, Visitor Information Centres, local government and organisations that are marketing on behalf of a destination.
  • Category 20Self Contained Accommodation: This category recognises a single self-contained property offering guests the freedom of self-sufficiency. For companies that are managing groups of properties it is recommended they focus on one of their properties or enter Specialised Tourism Services.
  • Category 21 Standard Accommodation: This category is open – but not limited to – motels, hotels, self-catering, cabins, backpackers and pub accommodation. The focus of this award is on both the facilities and services that enhance the tourism experience.
  • Category 24 New Tourism Business: This category recognises new tourism businesses that have commenced trading, visitation or service delivery during the qualifying period. This award recognises excellence in the planning and development of new tourism infrastructure and/or services. Tourism businesses that have commenced a new product or opened new infrastructure need to enter another category most applicable to the business.
  1. Question changes:

  1. Rules for Entry Amendments:

  • Formatting – 1 point per page will be deducted for every page over 31 (or the maximum page number specified). A maximum of 5 points will be applied.
  • The (non-scored) Business Profile section has been removed that was introduced in 2015.

Latest News Button

Subscribe Button

Get the lowdown...

  1. See who won
  2. Meet the judging panel
  3. View the photo galleries
  4. Connect with our partners
  5. Get ready for the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards