About the Tourism Awards

For over 30 years the Victorian Tourism Awards have showcased and recognised the state’s leaders in tourism excellence. The Awards encourage businesses to meet and strive to exceed industry standards. The awards play an integral role in rewarding business excellence, innovation, industry professionalism, collaboration and initiative.

The Victorian Tourism Awards are an online submission and site visit based competition for all tourism businesses and industry suppliers based in Victoria.

The Victoria Tourism Industry Council is contracted by the Victorian Government to manage the Awards program for three years (2015 -2017). Throughout the 1990’s, the Tourism Council of Australia managed the Awards before it was handed over to Tourism Victoria who operated the Awards up until 2014.

Category and criteria for the RACV Victorian Tourism Awards is set by National Tourism Alliance (NTA) for all States and Territories. Winners (of categories 1 through to 26) automatically progress for judging at a national level at the annual Qantas Australian Tourism Awards. The host location for this event rotates throughout the states and territories of Australia with Melbourne hosting the ceremony in 2016.

Over 100 entries are usually submitted across the various categories available to Victorian operators. By entering the program, businesses and individuals show strong commitment to the pursuit of tourism excellence.

Awards are announced at the industry’s ‘night of nights’, the annual Gala Ceremony where around 1000 industry stakeholders from across the state gather to celebrate, network and share the success of their industry, peers and colleagues.

The 2015 Qantas Australian Tourism Awards Gala Ceremony will then take place on Friday 5 February 2016 also at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Submissions Due:

4pm, Mon 5 September


2016 Nominations are now closed

  1. First choose the category you wish to enter
  2. Proceed to nominate and agree to terms and conditions
  3. Create an E-awards account (username and password)
  4. Enter contact details and upload 10 high res images
  5. Start your submission!